Tracking my workouts

In an effort to keep myself motivated I decided to try out CrossFit since I have heard so many good things about it and actually seen great results on a few of my friends. The one I go to offers one week free for new members, which I am in the middle of right now. I have gone 3 times so far and I am loving it. I think it is a good fit for me because they really pay attention to you and make sure you have the right form for the moves, but best of all they give you a lot of positive reinforcement- which I really need when I’m getting tired from the workout. I have gotten a lot of support from my friends who have done CrossFit in the past and have used them to answer a lot of my questions about it, which makes me feel much more comfortable with it. Starting new things can make anyone feel uncomfortable, so its nice to know that I don’t need to feel that way. Everyone was new at one point. And as my friend pointed out- nobody is there to judge you, they all just want to get in shape. I need to remind myself of that.

In talking with my friend, she also noted the importance of keeping track of my progress and the workouts that I do. So- lets start with yesterday. The “workout of the day” (WOD) was: 

“Chatter Box”
For Time

21-15-9

Power Snatch
Box Jump

They included recommendations for levels 1 and 2 for doing the weights, but I had a lot of trouble with the Power Snatch because I feel like I couldn’t get past a mental block I was having. The trainer broke the move down into sections and then put it all together again and for some reason my brain does not work well with that. I know that I can do it, I was just so pre-occupied with getting the form right that it wasn’t working for me, so I ended up doing the 15lb weight for the Power Snatch. And can I just say that I hate that name? Done. I hate it. 

So my time for the workout was 7 minutes and 30 seconds. 

Can’t wait to see how I improve!

Leave a Reply

