I’m sore!

Yesterday afternoon I biked over to CrossFit (a 2 mile ride) since Caleb had the car. It’s a nice ride over, a lot of hills to go down and the sun was out, so it was lovely. To be honest, I had a hard time leaving the house for this one. Caleb had come home for a few minutes to make him and I dinner for later before he went back into work. He is a massage therapist and is on call most of the week, so he can come home at some points. Anyways, having him there made it difficult for me to leave. For some reason when he is around I get lazy and want to just sit on the couch and watch TV with him. This is one reason why maintaining a workout routine is challenging for me- but excuses will always be there. Maybe tracking what I do and seeing that I faced the challenges head on and was happy about it after will help me the next time I come across an obstacle. I know that being in a couple can really put a damper on working out and living a healthy lifestyle for a while, so its important to re-establish your routine time and time again- which can be really tough. But that might be a blog for a different day! 

The workout was:

“Winsome”
10 Rounds

Teams of 2
Athlete 1
200 M Run

Athlete 2
12 AbMat Sit Ups
12 Kettlebell Swings

While athlete 1 is running, Athlete 2 will be trying to complete 10 AbMat Sit Ups and 10 Kettlebell Swings.
When Athlete 1 returns, the partners switch roles.
Athlete 1 is trying to complete the run before Athlete 2 can finish the AbMat Sit Ups and Kettlebell Swings.

Score is how many FULL Rounds of AbMat Sit Ups and Kettlebell Swings are completed and total time for team.

 

When I first saw this workout it didn’t seem that hard, but when I was actually DOING it, that was a different story. I was so out of breath at the end. My partner and I finished 4 rounds each for a time of 12 minutes. I used a 15lb kettlebell to start, although the recommended weight for level one was 25-35lbs. After I get the moves down, I think it will be okay to move up. I’m really sore today but that means its working! 

Leave a Reply

