Feeling pretty great

Feeling pretty great

I wanted to post this photo I found through Pinterest (it’s not of me) because it keeps me inspired. I also sometimes need to remind myself that weight is not indicative of fitness. Last summer I weighed 115lbs, which I felt good about, but my muscles had probably deteriorated. My new goal is to be whatever weight I need to be to have the body that I want, which is somewhere along the lines of the picture below.

I can already feel myself getting a little bit stronger… is that possible already? Ha!

Tuesday and yesterday I went to CrossFit, the Tuesday workout was:

Skill
Muscle Up

“Dupay”
For Time

400 M Run
Then
3 Rounds
2 Muscle Ups
4 Handstand Push Ups
8 Toes to Bar
12 Box Jumps
Then
400 M Run

Rx: Box Jumps: 24″/20″
Level 2: 2 Modified Muscle Ups PER Muscle Up, AbMat Handstand Push Ups, Knees to Elbows, Box Jump 24″/20″
Level 1: 3 Pull Ups AND 3 Dips substitue for Muscle Up, AbMat Handstand Push Ups, V-Ups, Box Jumps, 20″/16″

My time was 11:36, doing level 1, except I totally forgot to do the push-ups (I’m so spacey), and I’m pretty sure I was not doing the V- ups right. My abs weren’t sore the next day and I could barely do them. It was hard, which made me realize how important it is to keep at this cause I used to LOVE doing V-ups, they are such a good exercise for the lower abs. I wasn’t sore on Wednesday morning after doing this workout, which maybe is a good thing-maybe I’m getting in shape…

Yesterday’s workout was exciting:

Squat Clean
3 – 3 – 3 – 3 – 3

“High Tide”
AMRAP 9

7 Power Cleans
21 Wall Balls

Rx: Power Cleans 155/105, Wall Balls 20/14
Level 3: 135/95, 20/14
Level 2: 95/65, 16/12
Level 1: 65/45, 14/8

I thought this workout would be IMPOSSIBLE for me because of the Power Cleans, but it was actually quite exciting for me because I could actually do them. I did 4 reps plus 7 power cleans using 35lbs for the cleans and a 10lb medicine ball. I actually wish I used a lighter ball because I couldn’t throw it up passed the line for hardly any of my wall balls. But I still got a good workout from it, so eh, I’m happy with it. I felt bad because the coach specifically mentioned that you shouldn’t count it if you didn’t get over the prescribed height, but I wasn’t about to stop halfway through and run to get another ball, so I thought it was okay. All in all, Wednesday’s workout made me feel good about myself because the cleans look intimidating and I was able to do them. It’s hard for me to remember the forms throughout the movement when there are so many specifics, so this was a mental thing for me, and I succeeded 🙂

Leave a Reply

