New smoothie recipe, whey protein powder, paleo cake..Doesn’t hurt to try!

New smoothie time:

For the past few months now I have been making a green monster smoothie every day for breakfast which I LOVE because it makes me feel good and wakes me up, but I have decided to find another one for the sake of having variety and I found this delicious looking blueberry coconut recipe I would love to try. It doesn’t have spinach but I’m thinking it wouldn’t really change the flavor all that much to add some. I love the idea of getting my greens in when I don’t even have to think twice about it.

Whey protein powder:

The blueberry smoothie recipe along with seeing everyone at the gym with shakes after their workout got me thinking about trying out some protein powders. I have no idea why I should be adding some to my smoothies, or if it would make me gain weight/if its a meal replacement… Bottom line, I know nothing about protein powder. I googled “paleo protein powder” and found that whey protein powder is somehow okay, even though its made from milk products. I also realize its important to look for fewer ingredients and to have it be made of pure whey, and I found this one mentioned in a blog somewhere along the line from NOW foods. I’ve kept it in my cart for several days now on Amazon thinking about buying it. I’m not sure why I don’t just do it, but I think I just want to know more about it and why I need it. Aren’t I getting enough protein from the foods that I eat? I’m not trying to be a crazy muscleman, just a little toned- so I don’t know if I would benefit or not. I might order it just because its in this recipe, but we’ll see. Just something to think about. I’ll ask my trainer at CrossFit perhaps.

Paleo cake:

I’m trying to start making paleo recipes just to get the hang of it, so it doesn’t seem like such a big feat. I have a friend who’s birthday is coming up and she is also trying to eat paleo, so I thought I would make her a cake or some brownies, they look delectable and I am a big fan of dessert. I am going to give it a shot.

Yesterdays WOD was:

“Fran”

For Time

21-15-9

Thrusters
Pull Ups

Rx: 95/65
Level 2: 65/45, Band Pull Ups
Level 1: 45/35, Jumping Pull Ups

I used 35lbs for the thrusters and did jumping pull ups. I finished at a time of 4:31. I feel like I should have pushed myself a little bit harder, since everyone was exhausted at the end and I didn’t even break a sweat. I could have gone a little higher weight on thrusters and done the banded pull-ups. Next time! Maybe this just tells me that I might finally be moving up a level 🙂

Leave a Reply

